Table of Contents
- Key Points
- Background: Why This Research Matters
- What Is Gemogenovatucel-T?
- How the Study Was Conducted
- What the Study Measured
- Key Findings: Overall Survival Results
- Additional Findings: Relapse-Free Survival and Other Subgroups
- Long-Term Survival and Safety
- Who Were the Patients?
- Clinical Implications: What This Means for Patients
- Limitations: What the Study Could Not Prove
- Recommendations and Next Steps
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Source Information
Key Points
- In a phase II trial of 91 patients with newly diagnosed advanced ovarian cancer, gemogenovatucel-T improved overall survival in the cTMB-H/HRP subgroup.
- Median overall survival was 68 months with gemogenovatucel-T versus 19 months with placebo (hazard ratio 0.23; 95% CI 0.06 to 0.83; one-sided P = .008).
- No grade 3 treatment-related toxicity occurred in the gemogenovatucel-T group over 8.4 years of follow-up.
- The benefit was not seen in patients without the HRP profile, including those with BRCA mutations or homologous recombination deficiency.
- Gemogenovatucel-T is not FDA approved; a larger confirmatory trial is planned.
Background: Why This Research Matters
Advanced ovarian cancer that is newly diagnosed at stage IIIb-IV is usually treated with debulking surgery followed by combination chemotherapy. Debulking surgery means removing as much visible tumor as possible. Despite this standard approach, up to 75% of patients experience a relapse within 2 years. The 5-year survival rate is only 14% to 26%.
Newer maintenance treatments have improved outcomes for some patients, but not all. Maintenance therapy is treatment given after the initial chemotherapy to keep the cancer from returning. Poly (ADP-ribose) polymerase inhibitors (PARPis) are a class of drugs that block a DNA repair enzyme. These drugs work best in patients whose tumors have BRCA-1/2 mutations or a homologous recombination–deficient (HRD) profile. A BRCA mutation is an inherited change in a gene that normally helps repair DNA. An HRD profile means the tumor has a reduced ability to repair certain types of DNA damage.
Niraparib is the only PARP inhibitor approved for frontline maintenance in stage IIIb-IV newly diagnosed ovarian cancer, regardless of BRCA-1/2 status. However, the benefit is greatest in patients with a BRCA mutation or an HRD molecular profile. Patients with homologous recombination–proficient (HRP) tumors — meaning their tumors do not have this DNA repair weakness — receive minimal clinical benefit and no overall survival advantage. In one analysis, the hazard ratio for HRP tumors was 0.93, indicating almost no difference between treatment and control.
Patients with HRP tumors also have a worse prognosis than those with HRD or BRCA-mutant tumors. A retrospective analysis of the GOG-0218 study looked at 1,873 patients who received bevacizumab. That analysis found nearly 20 months lower survival in patients with HRP tumors (43.4 months) compared with patients who had BRCA mutations and HRD disease (62.6 months). This finding highlights a major unmet medical need for better therapies in the HRP population.
Other treatment approaches have also failed in this group. Checkpoint inhibitor therapy, which helps the immune system attack cancer, has shown no clinical benefit in the HRP subgroup. The IMagyn050 trial of atezolizumab showed no progression-free survival or overall survival advantage in the overall population or the HRP subgroup (hazard ratio 0.82), and the trial was stopped early. The DUO-O trial tested platinum chemotherapy plus bevacizumab followed by maintenance with bevacizumab and durvalumab. Patients without BRCA mutations showed prolonged progression-free survival compared with control (hazard ratio 0.61), but the greatest benefit was in the HRD subgroup (hazard ratio 0.46). Results for the HRP subpopulation were not reported, and overall survival data for all patients showed no benefit (hazard ratio 0.95).
In addition, the use of bevacizumab and niraparib maintenance therapy is limited by significant drug-related toxicity. More than 65% of patients experience grade 3 or 4 side effects, which are serious or life-threatening.
What Is Gemogenovatucel-T?
Gemogenovatucel-T is a DNA-engineered triple-function immunotherapy. It uses a patient's own tumor cells as a source of the full matrix of that patient's tumor-related clonal signals. Clonal signals are the unique molecular markers found on cancer cells.
The treatment works through three mechanisms:
- It promotes patient tumor-specific clonal neoantigen (cNEO) presentation. Neoantigens are abnormal proteins on cancer cells that the immune system can recognize.
- It activates dendritic cells through plasmid expression of granulocyte-macrophage colony-stimulating factor. Dendritic cells are immune cells that help trigger an immune response.
- It helps the immune system escape tolerance through plasmid-generated interference of transforming growth factor-β1 and transforming growth factor-β2 expression. This interference reduces expression of the furin cleavage enzyme.
Researchers previously verified that the gemogenovatucel-T product clonal tumor mutation burden (cTMB) signal contains the same clonal DNA mutations as the harvested tumor used to construct the treatment. A correlation coefficient of 98% (R² = 0.9802) was observed for cTMB signals between the harvested tumor and the gemogenovatucel-T product.
Earlier research showed that gemogenovatucel-T treatment benefited patients with stage III-IV ovarian cancer as maintenance therapy in the HRP subgroup. The current study further explores the impact of the high cTMB (cTMB-H) profile with gemogenovatucel-T treatment of HRP profile patients on overall survival within the VITAL trial.
How the Study Was Conducted
The VITAL trial (ClinicalTrials.gov identifier: NCT02346747) was a multicenter, double-blind, 1:1 randomized trial. Double-blind means neither the patients nor the researchers knew who received the active treatment and who received placebo. Random assignment was stratified by the extent of surgical cytoreduction and by whether patients received neoadjuvant or adjuvant chemotherapy. Stratified means patients were balanced between groups based on these factors.
Gemogenovatucel-T or placebo was given as maintenance therapy to patients with frontline stage IIIb-IV ovarian cancer who were in clinical complete response after debulking surgery and adjuvant or neoadjuvant chemotherapy. A clinical complete response means no evidence of disease could be detected.
Ninety-one patients received gemogenovatucel-T (N = 47) or placebo (N = 44). These patients had been previously analyzed for safety and efficacy.
Trial evaluation continued with collection of clinical data, including adverse events, recurrence, and post-therapies. Overall survival data were collected and uninterrupted until clinical database lock before clonal signal result determination. The blinding of patients and caretakers between gemogenovatucel-T and placebo was maintained throughout.
The cTMB, cNEO, and intratumor heterogeneity (ITH) molecular determinations were completed after clinical database lock. Intratumor heterogeneity refers to the degree of genetic diversity within a single tumor. These results were transferred to Stat Beyond Consulting (Irvine, CA) for analysis.
Sample analysis: Whole-exome DNA libraries were generated using the Twist Biosciences Exome 2.0 platform for library preparation and enrichment. The DNA samples came from cryopreserved tumor cell and peripheral blood mononuclear cell (PBMC) suspensions. Sequencing was performed using the Illumina NovaSeq X instrument.
Bioinformatics: Sequencing data were processed through a bioinformatics pipeline. Optimized BAM files were generated from raw reads by first removing adapters and low-quality trailing nucleotides using Trimmomatic. Sequencing data were then processed according to fgbio best practices to generate BAM files containing consensus reads. Base score recalibration and exome cropping were then performed.
Blinding and unblinding: Sample codes were used to blind physical test articles and to obscure whether a patient received active product or placebo. Samples submitted to Frontage Laboratories (Deerfield Beach, FL) were identified by blinded code or neutral identifiers (Patient ID, lot number). Frontage Laboratories generated the blinded test data (cTMB, cNEO, ITH), identified only by code or neutral identifier. The summary data were ingested into the clinical database and verified against the summary and raw data sets to ensure cleanliness of migration. The clinical data set parameters were presented to the third-party statistician for analysis against findings of molecular testing according to the Statistical Analysis Plan.
What the Study Measured
The primary end point of this assessment was to compare overall survival between gemogenovatucel-T versus placebo from random assignment for cTMB-H patients in the HRP population.
Secondary and preplanned end points included correlation of cTMB-H, cNEO high, and ITH with overall survival and relapse-free survival (RFS) from random assignment. Relapse-free survival is the time from treatment until the cancer returns or death.
All study end points were tested using the hierarchical testing method according to the prespecified order listed below. For each test, the one-sided stratified log-rank test at the alpha = .05 level of significance was used to compare whether there was any treatment difference between the gemogenovatucel-T and placebo groups. The stratification factors were the random assignment stratification factors.
- Overall survival from random assignment for cTMB-H patients in the HRP population
- Overall survival from random assignment for cTMB-H patients in the intent-to-treat (ITT) population
- Relapse-free survival from random assignment for cTMB-H patients in the HRP population
- Relapse-free survival from random assignment for cTMB-H patients in the ITT population
Ad hoc analysis of relapse-free survival and overall survival from time of tissue procurement was also performed.
Statistical methodology: Demographics and baseline characteristics were summarized. The number of patients who received subsequent anticancer therapy and types of subsequent anticancer therapy were provided. The median cTMB value from the HRP population was identified and used to classify each patient as cTMB-H (above or equal to median) or cTMB-low (below median).
Overall survival and relapse-free survival distributions for all populations analyzed were summarized using the Kaplan-Meier method. Treatment groups were compared by using the stratified log-rank test for all populations. Hazard ratio was estimated using the Cox proportional hazards model and stratified by the random assignment stratification factors. The Grambsch and Therneau test was performed at the two-sided .05 significance level to check the proportional hazards assumption for the Cox model with stratification.
Restricted mean survival time (RMST) analysis without covariate adjustment was also conducted per the statistical analysis plan as sensitivity analysis for primary and secondary end points. RMST difference analysis was performed using a truncation point equal to the minimum of the longest follow-up time of each group without covariate adjustment. The RMST difference and one-sided P value for the RMST difference were provided.
Key Findings: Overall Survival Results
The predicted patient subset described with the cTMB-H/HRP signal profile successfully achieved the primary end point of statistically significant overall survival advantage. The hazard ratio was 0.23 (95% CI, 0.06 to 0.83; one-sided P = .008) in gemogenovatucel-T versus placebo. A hazard ratio of 0.23 means patients treated with gemogenovatucel-T had a 77% lower risk of death compared with patients who received placebo.
This overall survival analysis for the cTMB-H/HRP population was the first end point in the prespecified hierarchical testing strategy, and the result was statistically significant. The proportional hazards assumption was met based on the Grambsch and Therneau test.
The Kaplan-Meier estimated median overall survival was 68 months (95% CI, 30.2 to not available) for gemogenovatucel-T–treated patients versus 19 months (95% CI, 15.6 to not available) for placebo-treated patients. This means half of the patients treated with gemogenovatucel-T were still alive at 68 months, compared with half of the placebo-treated patients at 19 months.
Results of overall survival were also confirmed by RMST analysis. The RMST was 63 months (95% CI, 45 to 81) with gemogenovatucel-T versus 33 months (95% CI, 16 to 49) with placebo. The RMST difference was 31 months (95% CI, 6.2 to 55.2), with a one-sided P = .007 and the RMST truncation point at 90 months. This analysis provides further statistical validation under non-normal distributions.
For overall survival analysis for the cTMB-H/HRP population, similar results were shown from the time of tissue procurement. The Kaplan-Meier median overall survival was 75 months (95% CI, 39.6 to not available) for gemogenovatucel-T versus 26 months (95% CI, 21.3 to not available) for placebo. The hazard ratio was 0.23 (95% CI, 0.06 to 0.83; one-sided P = .008). The RMST analysis showed overall survival of 70 months (95% CI, 52 to 87) for gemogenovatucel-T versus 39 months (95% CI, 22 to 56) for placebo. The RMST difference was 31 months (95% CI, 6.7 to 55.0), with a one-sided P = .006 and the RMST truncation point at 96 months.
Breakdown of long-term survival from random assignment compared gemogenovatucel-T versus placebo in the cTMB-H/HRP subset population. Gemogenovatucel-T demonstrated a durable overall survival advantage through 7 years (45% versus 8%, one-sided P = .03). This means that at 7 years, 45% of patients treated with gemogenovatucel-T were still alive compared with 8% of patients who received placebo.
Separate correlation with overall survival of gemogenovatucel-T versus placebo for high cNEO demonstrated benefit with a hazard ratio of 0.39 (95% CI, 0.12 to 1.26; one-sided P = .051). Separate correlation with overall survival of gemogenovatucel-T versus placebo for low ITH demonstrated benefit with a hazard ratio of 0.30 (95% CI, 0.08 to 1.10; one-sided P = .028). The proportional hazards assumption was met in these analyses based on the Grambsch and Therneau test.
Additional Findings: Relapse-Free Survival and Other Subgroups
The overall survival response from random assignment of all patients entered into VITAL with cTMB-H status (ITT population) was the second end point in the prespecified hierarchical testing strategy. This included the HRD and HRP population. It was not statistically significantly different between gemogenovatucel-T (n = 31) and placebo (n = 34) overall survival (hazard ratio 0.69; 95% CI, 0.35 to 1.38; one-sided P = .147). This finding provides further support evidence of the unique responsiveness to gemogenovatucel-T of the cTMB-H/HRP target population. This finding also provides further support evidence of lack of sensitivity related to the HRD molecular profile regardless of the cTMB-H profile. The level of the results of the first end point in the prespecified hierarchical testing strategy defined HRP as a more significant variable. HRP in combination with cTMB-H affects overall survival.
The second end point in the prespecified hierarchical testing did not show statistical significance. Therefore, the third and fourth end points in the hierarchical testing order should not be considered statistically significant. This is regardless of small P values. However, these results may be clinically significant, so the researchers presented the results.
The relapse-free survival from random assignment analysis for the cTMB-H/HRP population was the third end point in the prespecified hierarchical testing strategy. The Kaplan-Meier estimated median relapse-free survival was 10 months (95% CI, 5.8 to not available) for gemogenovatucel-T versus 6 months (95% CI, 3.5 to not available) for placebo (hazard ratio 0.41; 95% CI, 0.13 to 1.35; one-sided P = .066). For RMST analysis, it was 10 months (95% CI, 8 to 12) for gemogenovatucel-T versus 6 months (95% CI, 4 to 8) for placebo. The RMST difference was 4 months (95% CI, 1.0 to 6.2), with a one-sided P = .004 and the RMST truncation point at 13 months.
The relapse-free survival from random assignment analysis for the cTMB-H/ITT population was the fourth end point in the prespecified hierarchical testing strategy. The Kaplan-Meier estimated median relapse-free survival was 10 months (95% CI, 5.8 to 19.4) for gemogenovatucel-T versus 8 months (95% CI, 5.8 to 15.5) for placebo (hazard ratio 0.72; 95% CI, 0.39 to 1.36; one-sided P = .150).
Additional patient subpopulation analysis: Researchers investigated whether a significant response to gemogenovatucel-T could be observed in a larger portion of the patients in the trial. This group had a BRCA-1/2-wild-type genotype and either HRD or HRP status (n = 67), and they also had cTMB levels above the threshold established from the HRP group (cTMB-H, n = 42).
This set of patients also showed significant improvements in overall survival. The median overall survival was not available (95% CI, 30.2 to not available) months for gemogenovatucel-T versus 36 months (95% CI, 17.1 to not available) for placebo (hazard ratio 0.37; 95% CI, 0.15 to 0.91; one-sided P = .013). Relapse-free survival was 11 months (95% CI, 6.5 to not available) for gemogenovatucel-T versus 8 months (95% CI, 5.6 to 10.2) for placebo (hazard ratio 0.49; 95% CI, 0.22 to 1.12; one-sided P = .044). Both analyses were from random assignment via Kaplan-Meier analysis.
RMST analysis also demonstrated improvement in overall survival: 64 months (95% CI, 51 to 76) for gemogenovatucel-T versus 45 months (95% CI, 30 to 60) for placebo. The RMST difference was 19 months (95% CI, −20.8 to 38.4), with a one-sided P = .03 and the RMST truncation point at 91 months. Relapse-free survival was 16 months (95% CI, 11 to 21) for gemogenovatucel-T versus 10 months (95% CI, 6 to 14) for placebo. The RMST difference was 6 months (95% CI, −20.4 to 12.9), with a one-sided P = .033 and the RMST truncation point at 32 months.
Non-HRP patients: As expected, the non-HRP (BRCA-mutant/HRD) patients with cTMB levels above the established threshold (cTMB-H status) did not demonstrate overall survival advantage between gemogenovatucel-T (n = 24) and placebo (n = 18). The hazard ratio was 0.99 (95% CI, 0.39 to 2.47; one-sided P = .488). The proportional hazards assumption was met in the above analyses based on the Grambsch and Therneau test.
cTMB threshold analysis: The cTMB values comparing gemogenovatucel-T with placebo within the HRP subset showed overall survival advantage to patients who received gemogenovatucel-T versus placebo in the cTMB-H group (above or equal to median 0.741). No difference in overall survival was observed between gemogenovatucel-T and placebo in the low cTMB subset (hazard ratio 1.36; one-sided P = .696).
No difference in distribution of the cTMB signal between gemogenovatucel-T and placebo was observed (two-sided P = .133 based on the Welch two-sample t-test). This finding supports that the overall survival effect was related to gemogenovatucel-T over placebo and not to differences in cTMB distribution between groups.
To further evaluate the optimal cTMB threshold to distinguish responsive (better overall survival) and nonresponsive patients, researchers calculated the optimal threshold value using the optimization assessment methodology. Results with this method yielded 0.658 as the optimal threshold. The HRP patients with cTMB of 0.658 or higher showed an overall survival of 68 months versus 22 months for gemogenovatucel-T versus placebo, respectively (hazard ratio 0.22; one-sided P = .007).
Long-Term Survival and Safety
Comparison of gemogenovatucel-T with placebo suggested no difference in toxic effect compared with placebo. Long-term follow-up revealed no evidence of treatment-related acute myeloid leukemia (AML) or myelodysplastic syndrome. Acute myeloid leukemia is a cancer of the blood and bone marrow. Myelodysplastic syndrome is a group of disorders caused by poorly formed blood cells.
No grade 3 treatment-related toxicity was observed in the gemogenovatucel-T group with a follow-up of 8.4 years. Grade 3 toxicity refers to serious side effects that require medical intervention.
Who Were the Patients?
Demographics and baseline characteristics of the high clonal tumor mutation burden patients in the homologous recombination–proficient population are shown in Table 1. No statistical difference between gemogenovatucel-T and placebo was observed.
In the cTMB-H/HRP population, 11 patients received gemogenovatucel-T and 12 received placebo.
- Age: Median age was 66.0 years (IQR 62.0-71.5) for gemogenovatucel-T and 64.5 years (IQR 61.5-67.3) for placebo. The range was 51.0-84.0 years for gemogenovatucel-T and 49.0-79.0 years for placebo. In the gemogenovatucel-T group, 3 patients (27.3%) were under 65 and 8 patients (72.7%) were 65 or older. In the placebo group, 6 patients (50.0%) were under 65 and 6 patients (50.0%) were 65 or older.
- Race: In the gemogenovatucel-T group, 11 patients (100.0%) were White. In the placebo group, 1 patient (8.3%) was Black or African American and 11 patients (91.7%) were White.
- Ethnicity: In the gemogenovatucel-T group, 11 patients (100.0%) were not Hispanic or Latino. In the placebo group, 11 patients (91.7%) were not Hispanic or Latino and 1 patient (8.3%) was not reported.
- ECOG performance status: In the gemogenovatucel-T group, 4 patients (36.4%) had ECOG 0 and 7 patients (63.6%) had ECOG 1. In the placebo group, 8 patients (66.7%) had ECOG 0 and 4 patients (33.3%) had ECOG 1. ECOG performance status measures how well a patient can carry out daily activities, with 0 meaning fully active and 1 meaning restricted in physically strenuous activity.
- FIGO stage: In the gemogenovatucel-T group, 8 patients (72.7%) had stage III and 3 patients (27.3%) had stage IV. In the placebo group, 11 patients (91.7%) had stage III and 1 patient (8.3%) had stage IV. FIGO is the International Federation of Gynecology and Obstetrics staging system.
- Frontline chemotherapy: In the gemogenovatucel-T group, 3 patients (27.3%) received neoadjuvant chemotherapy and 8 patients (72.7%) received adjuvant chemotherapy. In the placebo group, 1 patient (8.3%) received neoadjuvant chemotherapy and 11 patients (91.7%) received adjuvant chemotherapy. Neoadjuvant means chemotherapy given before surgery. Adjuvant means chemotherapy given after surgery.
- Number of chemotherapy cycles: The mean (SD) was 5.9 for the gemogenovatucel-T group.
- Subsequent therapies: In the gemogenovatucel-T group, 0 patients received immunotherapy, 5 received PARP inhibitors, 3 received VEGF inhibitors, and 6 received other therapies. In the placebo group, 3 patients received immunotherapy, 5 received PARP inhibitors, 4 received VEGF inhibitors, and 5 received other therapies.
Clinical Implications: What This Means for Patients
The results of this analysis demonstrate that gemogenovatucel-T provides statistically significant overall survival benefit without toxic effect. This benefit occurs when gemogenovatucel-T is used as maintenance therapy in patients with newly diagnosed cTMB-H/HRP stage IIIb-IV ovarian cancer.
The recent discovery that the same cTMB signaling pattern is maintained between the original tumor used to construct gemogenovatucel-T and the gemogenovatucel-T product supports these findings. Previous evidence that gemogenovatucel-T increases antitumor activity by upregulating activated CD8 T cells against cancer neoantigens also supports the current findings. CD8 T cells are a type of immune cell that can attack cancer cells. These findings suggest that relevant neoantigen signals related to immune attack are involved in HRP/cTMB-H profile expressive cancer.
Based on the subset population results in the VITAL trial, the US Food and Drug Administration provided Fast Track (Regenerative Medicine Advanced Therapy) Designation for gemogenovatucel-T in January 2025. The FDA is engaged in expediting the development, review, and potential approval of gemogenovatucel-T in the United States after the prospective randomized confirmatory trial.
This means that patients with newly diagnosed stage IIIb-IV HRP ovarian cancer who achieve complete response to debulking surgery and adjuvant platinum-based chemotherapy may have a new treatment option. That new treatment option provides overall survival advantage. Currently, this population has no treatment available that provides overall survival advantage.
Limitations: What the Study Could Not Prove
One limitation of this study is the small number of patients available for analysis. The cTMB-H/HRP population included only 11 patients who received gemogenovatucel-T and 12 who received placebo.
Further evaluation to explore the cTMB relationship in ovarian cancer and other solid tumor cancers is warranted given the small number of patients providing these significant results.
Because the second end point in the prespecified hierarchical testing did not show statistical significance, the third and fourth end points should not be considered statistically significant. The third and fourth end points are relapse-free survival for the cTMB-H/HRP population and for the cTMB-H/ITT population. This is regardless of small P values. However, these results may be clinically significant.
Recommendations and Next Steps
Based on these findings, the following steps are recommended:
- Patients with newly diagnosed stage IIIb-IV ovarian cancer should discuss molecular testing with their healthcare team. Testing for homologous recombination status and clonal tumor mutation burden may help identify whether they could benefit from gemogenovatucel-T.
- Patients with HRP tumors who achieve complete response after debulking surgery and frontline platinum-based doublet chemotherapy should ask their oncologist about clinical trials evaluating gemogenovatucel-T.
- Further research is needed to confirm these results in a larger prospective randomized confirmatory trial, which is already being planned.
- Additional studies should explore the cTMB relationship in ovarian cancer and other solid tumor cancers.
Patients should be aware that gemogenovatucel-T is not yet approved by the FDA for general use. The Fast Track designation is intended to expedite the development and review process, but it does not guarantee approval. Patients interested in this treatment should discuss available options with their healthcare team.
Frequently Asked Questions
Who might be eligible for gemogenovatucel-T?
In the VITAL trial, gemogenovatucel-T was given as maintenance therapy to patients with newly diagnosed stage IIIb-IV ovarian cancer who had a clinical complete response after debulking surgery and chemotherapy. The overall survival benefit was seen specifically in patients whose tumors were homologous recombination–proficient (HRP) and had a high clonal tumor mutation burden (cTMB-H).
What does a hazard ratio of 0.23 mean for overall survival?
In the trial, a hazard ratio of 0.23 means patients treated with gemogenovatucel-T had a 77% lower risk of death compared with those who received placebo. This result applied to the cTMB-H/HRP subgroup. Median overall survival was 68 months with gemogenovatucel-T versus 19 months with placebo.
What were the side effects of gemogenovatucel-T?
In the trial, no grade 3 treatment-related toxicity occurred in the gemogenovatucel-T group over 8.4 years of follow-up. Long-term follow-up showed no evidence of treatment-related acute myeloid leukemia or myelodysplastic syndrome. The comparison suggested no difference in toxic effect compared with placebo.
How is gemogenovatucel-T given?
Gemogenovatucel-T is a DNA-engineered immunotherapy made using a patient's own tumor cells. In the VITAL trial, it was given as maintenance therapy after debulking surgery and adjuvant or neoadjuvant chemotherapy, to patients who had a clinical complete response. It works by promoting tumor-specific clonal neoantigen presentation, activating dendritic cells, and helping the immune system escape tolerance.
Is gemogenovatucel-T approved by the FDA?
No. Gemogenovatucel-T is not yet approved by the FDA for general use. In January 2025, the FDA provided Fast Track (Regenerative Medicine Advanced Therapy) Designation to expedite development and review. This designation does not guarantee approval. A larger prospective randomized confirmatory trial is being planned.
What is clonal tumor mutation burden (cTMB) and why does it matter?
Clonal tumor mutation burden (cTMB) is a measure of the clonal DNA mutations in a tumor. In the VITAL trial, patients with HRP tumors and high cTMB (cTMB-H) had a large overall survival advantage with gemogenovatucel-T. Patients with low cTMB did not show this difference. Testing for cTMB may help identify who could benefit.
What are the limitations of the VITAL trial results?
The cTMB-H/HRP population included only 11 patients who received gemogenovatucel-T and 12 who received placebo. Because the second end point in the hierarchical testing did not show statistical significance, the third and fourth end points (relapse-free survival) should not be considered statistically significant, regardless of small P values. Further research in a larger trial is needed.
I have newly diagnosed stage IIIb-IV HRP ovarian cancer and finished debulking surgery plus chemotherapy — when should I seek a second opinion about maintenance treatment?
After debulking surgery and frontline platinum-based chemotherapy, when a complete response is achieved, the maintenance decision matters most. For homologous recombination–proficient tumors with high clonal tumor mutation burden, gemogenovatucel-T produced a median overall survival of 68 months versus 19 months with placebo, with no grade 3 treatment-related toxicity over 8.4 years. Gemogenovatucel-T is not FDA-approved for general use, so a second opinion can help clarify molecular testing for HR status and cTMB and whether a clinical trial fits. Diagnostic Detectives Network provides independent expert second opinions.
Source Information
Original article title: Gemogenovatucel-T Advantage in Clonal Tumor Mutation Burden-High Ovarian Cancer.
Authors: Robert L. Coleman, MD; Rodney Rocconi, MD; Bradley J. Monk, MD; Adam Walter, MD; Laura Stanbery, PhD; David Willoughby, PhD; Casey Nagel, PhD; Qi Wei, PhD; Gladice Wallraven, BS; Staci Horvath, BS; Min Tang, PhD; Donald Rao, PhD; Ernest Bognar, BS; and John Nemunaitis, MD
Publication: JCO Precision Oncology, volume 10, article e2500462. Published January 14, 2026. Accepted November 19, 2025.
DOI: https://doi.org/10.1200/PO-25-00462
Clinical trial identifier: NCT02346747 (VITAL trial, CL-PTL-119)
Funding and disclosures: The article is published under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial No Derivatives 4.0 License. Data Sharing Statement, Data Supplement, and Protocol are available as accompanying content.
This patient-friendly article is based on peer-reviewed research. It is intended for educational purposes only and does not replace consultation with a qualified healthcare provider. Patients should discuss their individual medical situation with their oncology team.